News Releases

  • New District 6 Board members take oath of office

    Posted by CASEY PEARSON on 11/14/2017

    Three returning members and one new member took the oath of office and officially became directors of the Greeley-Evans School Board of Education Monday night.

    Current board members Roger DeWitt, Rhonda Solis and John W. Haefeli, and new member Michael Mathews recited and signed the oath of office at the board’s regular business meeting November 13. Mathews is the father of five children who attend District 6 schools, and the pastor of St. Patrick’s Presbyterian Church. The oath was administered by Greeley Municipal Court Judge Diane Knutson.

    Board members also elected officers. Roger DeWitt was selected to continue in his role as president of the board. Terri Pappas was elected vice president of the board. Both will serve two years in those roles.

    Before the swearing-in ceremony, Board members had a chance to say goodbye and thank you to departing board member Steve Hall, who chose not to seek reelection. Hall has served on the board since November 2013.

    The Board of Education is composed of seven members, each elected at-large for a four-year term. This year, four seats were up for election and four people ran for those seats.

    Comments (-1)
  • Bond Family awards grant to Centennial teachers

    Posted by CASEY PEARSON on 11/1/2017

    Fourth grade teachers at Centennial Elementary School have been awarded a $4,500 grant from the Bond Family Foundation to create and share science curriculum and lessons plans with the colleagues in other schools.

    The For the Love of Science grant allows the teachers to partner with the science department at the University of Northern Colorado to purchase materials for 30 students as well as develop lessons to engage them in grade-appropriate science activities.

    Former University of Northern Colorado President Dr. Dick Bond started this foundation with his family, using dollars he has saved over the years to create a fund that supports science education. He said he happy the fund can support teachers in their own learning, and in turn benefit students.

    The For the Love of Science grant is a competitive grant open to all elementary school teachers in District 6.

    Comments (-1)
  • District 6 open enrollment window begins Nov. 1

    Posted by CASEY PEARSON on 10/30/2017

    Greeley-Evans School District 6 families interested in enrolling their child or children in schools outside their home boundary for the 2018-19 school year will have from November 1 to December 19, 2017, to complete an open enrollment request.

    Neighborhood schools in District 6 are a great fit for our students and families, offering a well-rounded education that helps students reach their full potential. And, some parents and students prefer programs that offer unique educational experiences that more closely align with their personal preferences, goals and needs. For these families, District 6 offers a variety of educational programs and schools.

    For the full press release click HERE.

    Comments (-1)
  • Three District 6 supporters receive Celebrate 6! Awards

    Posted by CASEY PEARSON on 10/26/2017

    Two Greeley-Evans School District 6 staff members and one community partner were honored recently with the Celebrate 6! Award for service to the students of Greeley and Evans.

    The Celebrate 6 Award recognizes individuals who have supported Greeley-Evans School District 6 and its students in a significant way. The 2017-2018 first quarter recipients have had a positive impact on District 6, its students and staff, and recognize the importance of providing excellent public education for all the children of Greeley and Evans.

    For the full press release click HERE.

    Comments (-1)
  • D6 students win more AP scholar honors than ever

    Posted by CASEY PEARSON on 10/24/2017

    In more than one way, 2017 was a record-breaking year for Greeley-Evans School District 6 students earning the prestigious AP Scholar Awards from the National College Board organization: 106 students earned the honor, more than ever recorded; a record-breaking five students have achieved National AP Scholar and the first student from Jefferson High School has achieved AP Scholar with Distinction.

    The five students earning National AP Scholar awards are: John Palmer of Frontier Academy, who scored a five on eight AP exams; Hannah Kiburz of Greeley Central High School, who scored a five on seven exams and a four on three exams; Hayden Smith of Greeley Central High School, who scored a five on four exams and a four on five exams; Jackson Starkey of Greeley West High School, who scored a five on seven exams and a four on three exams; and Jordan Gage from Northridge High School, who scored a five on eight exams and a four on four exams.

    For the full press release click HERE.

    Comments (-1)
  • more