Return to Headlines

District 6 Students Earn AP Scholar Honors

A record number of students in Greeley-Evans School District 6 have earned the prestigious AP Scholars award for their outstanding performance on 2019 Advanced Placement tests, with four students earning the highest distinction of National AP Scholar. This year, 120 District 6 students earned AP Scholar honors.


The College Board’s Advanced Placement program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses and exams while in high school. District 6 offers more than 20 Advanced Placement courses to high school students. Students who score well on AP exams are eligible to receive college credit, advanced placement in college, or both at more than 3,200 colleges and universities across the United States. 


Annually, the College Board recognizes those students who have taken multiple AP exams and scored well on them:


  • AP Scholar: Students who earned scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.
  • AP Scholar with Honor: Students who earned an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and had scores of 3 or higher on at least four exams.
  • AP Scholar with Distinction: Students who earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and had scores of 3 or higher on at least five exams.
  • National AP Scholar: Students who earned an average score of at least 4 on all AP exams taken and had scores of 4 or higher on at least eight exams.
  • AP Capstone Seminar and Research Certificate: Students who earned scores of three or higher on AP Seminar and AP Research, but not on four additional AP exams.
  • AP Capstone Diploma: Student who earned scores of 3 or higher on AP Seminar and AP Research and on four additional AP exams of their choosing.


Greeley Central High School led among District 6 high schools with 47 AP scholars this year. 

District 6 has nearly doubled the number of students achieving AP Scholar status over the past few years. In 2012, the number of AP Scholars was 57. Over the past 13 years, more than 1,000 District 6 students have been named as AP Scholars by the College Board.


The College Board’s AP exams are developed by a national committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring that the exams are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation's leading liberal arts and research institutions


The 2019 National AP Scholars for District 6 are: 

  • Hayden Hein, who is a senior at Greeley Central High School, scored a 5 on seven tests and a 4 on two tests.
  • James Krombholz, who graduated in May from Greeley Central High School, scored a 5 on three tests and a 4 on six tests.
  • Indigo Parlin, a senior at Greeley Central High School, scored a 5 on six tests and a 4 on four tests.
  • Brooklyn Johnson, who graduated in May from Northridge High School, scored a 5 on three tests and a 4 on seven tests.


The remaining 2019 College Board Advanced Placement Scholars from District 6 are listed below. Some of these students were seniors in May 2019 and are now attending colleges and universities across the United States, or engaged in other education or career opportunities.


Greeley Central High School


AP Scholar: Aidan A. Schuttler. Alexandria T. Joseph, Alexis Arredondo, Alfredo J. Ochoa Hernandez, Anna L. Rutledge, Ariela R. Rodriguez, Brian M. Davis, Daniel E. Fuente, Diego Raya, Emily M. Nolin, Grace L. Patrick, Heather M. Yackey, Izel N. Guzman, Kayla J. Brower, Kyria I. Smith, Lanie M. Freeland, Leona K. Armagost, Lesly N. Alvarez-Rivera, Lincoln Severt, Madeline B. Brabo, Madrigal J. Frederick-Law, Michael T. Klemm, Neyver Soto-Velasques, Nimo A. Elmi, Olivia Staubitz, Philip A. Steitz, Riley F. Wooten and Stefeny G. Krombholz


AP Scholar with Honor: John M. Mathews, Jory E. Hundley, Makayla A. Martin, Meghan E. Wampler, Rudi A. Herrig

AP Scholar with Distinction:  Ashton J. Mott Severt, Gavan W. Blackburn, Gianna Uyemura, Hayden L. Hein, Indigo N. Parlin, Jaeda C. Shackley, James H. Krombholz, Kathryn R. Canterbury, Lindy C. Muttel, Mazlyn G. Freier andTaylor R. Henderson


Greeley West High School

AP Scholar: Autumn R. Truitt, Brayden Startzer, Brendan J. McCune, Brody N. Clark, Dakota C., Kessinger-Soto, Ivanna X. Rizo, Jackson m. Morgan, Jasmine S. Demeyer. Jonathan M. Ordonez, Joshua D. Morehead, Karla J. Ibarra Ruiz, Maliya L. Suntych, Mara R. Johnson, Rebecca A. Nava,, Riley A. Reynolds, Ryan Wethington, Terence V. Williams and Vincentius Farnando


AP Scholar with Honor:  Gracejit K. Chahal and Luisa V. Zamora


AP Scholar with Distinction: Jennifer A. Sample and Megan E. Battleson


Northridge High School

AP Scholar: Amy R. Haining, Carson A. Doney, David Thang, Emily O. Chaparro, Erica Horning Gabriel X. Castro, James A. Hermance, Kennedy C. Michnewicz, Khalil N. Bhanji, Madison K. Van Soest, Shane T. Loewe, Tomas G. Martinez, Wyatt A. Carpenter


AP Scholar with Honor: Aidan D. Reaves and Alea B. Shaeffer

AP Scholar with Distinction: Angel Lechuga Gonzalez, Brooklyn C. Johnson, Geneva V. San Nicolas, Mikyla K. Bowen


AP Seminar and Research Certificate: Aidan D. Reaves, Angel Lechuga Gonzale, Kennedy C. Michnewicz, Shane T. Loewe


AP Capstone Diploma: Mikyla K. Bowen


Frontier Academy

AP Scholar: Anna C. Gergely, Anna G. Stoltz, Kathi R. Lapoint, Kaysi L. Lapoint, Kyra L. Pfost, Lauryn Crittenden, Leanna C. Thaxton, Madeline A. Pratt, Mary Gulkin, Peyton Meyer, Savannah B. Jones and Trinity C. Johnston 


AP Scholar with Honor: Andrew J. Roth


AP Scholar with Distinction: Allison M. Palmer, Jenna R. Rothe, Samuel W. Stoltz


Union Colony Preparatory

AP Scholar: Hailey S. Wood and Missy A. Trigos


AP Scholar with Distinction: Jessica R. Detwiler


University Schools

AP Scholar: Adam P. Padilla, Ethan M. Boltz and Rylee R. Reeve


AP Scholar with Honor: Francesca I. Urbina


AP Scholar with Distinction: Cameron J. Gill-Cox, Kenzie A. Dice and Khang D. Ho