Return to Headlines

Four District 6 students named Boettcher Scholars

Four Greeley-Evans School District 6 students have been selected as Boettcher Scholars by the Boettcher Foundation, joining 47 other Colorado high school seniors who received the prestigious honor this year.


This year’s District 6 Boettcher Scholars are Aven McCall of Greeley Central High School, Dylan Roseman of Early College Academy and Jilly Huang and Kylee Wolfe of Greeley West High School. More than 1,500 students statewide applied for the Boettcher scholarship.


Boettcher Scholars receive an annual fixed amount of $20,000 per year for four years to use at a Colorado institution of higher education. Boettcher scholars can also qualify for enrichment programs, educational enrichment grants, international education grants and can take part in annual events. Since 1952, the Boettcher Foundation has awarded more than $110 million in scholarships.


All four Boettcher Scholars said the application process was rigorous, and winning is an honor and a surprise.


“It’s one of the best surprises I’ve ever gotten,” McCall said. “I was so relieved it was over with. It’s such a stressful process.”


“I prepped a lot for the interview, doing mock interviews with my teachers,” Huang said. “I saw this as a huge honor, and the thought that I could be a Boettcher Scholar was just incredible.”


Wolfe, who also was recently awarded the Daniels Fund Scholarship, agrees.


“The process is super exciting and super anxiety producing,” Wolfe said. “I felt like I had put a lot into not only my academics, but my school in general. I thought I could maybe be a Boettcher Scholar.”


Roseman didn’t receive his acceptance from the Boettcher Foundation until Thursday afternoon.


“I immediately opened it, and was like, ‘Is this for real?’” Roseman said. “I was just so joyous. This is like a dream come true.”


All four students are very involved in their schools and community, and have goals and plans for their future.


McCall plays basketball, participates in Marching Band and Jazz Band, is a Thespian, serves as president of the Key Club, is on the Council of Student Representatives and volunteers through the teacher cadet program at Fred Tjardes School of Innovation. She is hoping to attend the University of Denver and enter a bachelors and masters program to become an elementary school teacher.


Roseman is an Eagle Scout, a member of the Gaming Club and National Honor Society, Student Body President, serves on the Council of Student Representatives, is a member of the National Society of High School Scholars and the National Society of Leadership and Success, is a member of the Greeley Dream Team, and volunteers at the Guadalupe Center, Weld County Food Bank and Santa Cops. He plans to study Health Sciences with an emphasis on Healthcare Administration at the University of Northern Colorado.


Huang serves as the President of the Council of Student Representatives, is in orchestra, is co-president of Key Club, participates in LINK Crew and National Honor Society, and is in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program. She wants to enter an Urban Studies program, maybe at the University of Boulder, and eventually become a city planner.


Wolfe has played varsity volleyball, basketball and soccer all four years of high school and served as the team captain for all three sports the last two years. She also is Vice President of Key Club and National Honor Society, in orchestra, serves as the senior representative in Student Council, participates in LINK Crew and is in the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program. Wolfe is planning to study journalism, and is still deciding what college or university to attend.


The students thanked everyone who helped them become Boettcher Scholars, especially teachers and counselors who assisted with the applications and mock interviews.


“It was amazing being able to tell all the people who helped me,” McCall said. “I can’t tell you how many people screamed in my face that day, they were so happy and surprised.”


2023 Boettcher Scholars: Dylan Roseman, Kylee Wolfe, Aven McCall, Jilly Huang