Return to Headlines

109 District 6 students earn AP Scholar honors

This year, 109 Greeley-Evans School District 6 students have earned the prestigious AP Scholars award for their outstanding performance on 2022 Advanced Placement tests. 


The College Board’s Advanced Placement program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses and exams while in high school. District 6 offers more than 20 Advanced Placement courses to high school students. Students who score well on AP exams are eligible to receive college credit, advanced placement in college, or both at more than 3,200 colleges and universities across the United States. 


Annually, the College Board recognizes those students who have taken multiple AP exams and scored well on them:

  • AP Scholar: Students who earned scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP exams.
  • AP Scholar with Honor: Students who earned an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and had scores of 3 or higher on at least four exams.
  • AP Scholar with Distinction: Students who earned an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and had scores of 3 or higher on at least five exams.
  • AP Capstone Seminar and Research Certificate: Students who earned scores of three or higher on AP Seminar and AP Research, but not on four additional AP exams.
  • AP Capstone Diploma: Students who earned scores of 3 or higher on AP Seminar and AP Research and on four additional AP exams of their choosing.


Greeley Central High School led among District 6 high schools with 67 AP scholars this year. Greeley West High School hosts the International Baccalaureate program, which also provides college credit to qualifying students.

District 6 has nearly doubled the number of students achieving AP Scholar status over the past few years. In 2012, the number of AP Scholars was 57. Over the past 15 years, more than 1,200 District 6 students have been named as AP Scholars by the College Board.

The College Board’s AP exams are developed by a national committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring that the exams are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation's leading liberal arts and research institutions

The 2022 College Board Advanced Placement Scholars from District 6 are listed below. Some of these students were seniors in May 2022 and will be attending colleges and universities across the United States, or engaged in other education or career opportunities.


Greeley Central High School

AP Scholar:
Karyme Alonzo-Rodriguez, Miguel Alvarado Arguijo, Jade Arce, Yahir Chairez-Salazar, Lindsey Fritz, Ricardo Garcia Naranjo, Samuel Gomez, Vivian Gonzalez, Elias Haro, Katerina Hintz, Alana Hunziker, Vidal Lucero, Elora Mann, Daniela Martinez Nieblas, Will Mathews, Aven McCall, Blake Mikula, Saria Mowrer, Landon Olsen, Andrew Pollock, Miguelangel Ramirez-Aleman, Lucy Randall, Luther Sadler, Cara Schuttler, Delaney Shanley, Mateo Tecum Jacinto, Marvin Tercero Perez, Guadalupe Torres Ramirez, Aaron Trevino, Myrna Weis-Calderon

AP Scholar with Honor: Kirsten Harkins, Asher Hein, Emma Johnston, Alyson Toews, Michael Toews, Oliver Voigt

AP Scholar with Distinction: Nevaeh Ahrendsen; Dylan Frederick-Law, Camille Heaston, Rudi Herrig, Savana Long, John Mathews, Casbah Parlin, Markus Rodriguez

AP Capstone Diploma: John Mathews 


Greeley West High School

AP Scholar:
Ralisha Anderson, Layne Brown, Akam Chahal, Annette De La Rosa Luevanos, Jilly Huang, Averie Loma, Nihit Panth, Lane Renouf, Kylee Wolfe

AP Scholar with Honor:  Joshua Rascon, Thomas Roth

AP Scholar with Distinction: Alexander Branum, Colleen Cherry, Edward Hart Bobadilla,  Theodore Hirsch, James Mathews, Bohden Suntych


Northridge High School

AP Scholar:
Nashir Bhanji, Herminia Bocanegra, Tabitha Chatman, Nicholas DeBey, Braeden Freier, Angel Hernandez, Jaden Massengill, Grayson Mearsha, Alexia Morfin, George Paladichuk, Giselle Pineda, Reece Pratz, Jace Reid, Harrison Smith, Stella Van Buskirk 

AP Scholar with Honor: Isaac Kness

AP Scholar with Distinction: Cody Burkholder, Paige Hill 

AP Seminar and Research Certificate: Gerardo Aguilar, Nashir Bhanji, Paige Hill, McKenna Lopezi, Jaden Massengill, Harrison Smith

AP Capstone Diploma: Cody Burkholder, Tabitha Chatman, Isaac Kness


Frontier Academy

AP Scholar:
Natalie Aerni, Holden Billiot, Raymond Castillo, Kamryn Lyons, Adrianna Pearson

AP Scholar with Honor: Zoey Douglass

AP Scholar with Distinction: Alexander Dhupar and Sebastian Groom


University Schools

AP Scholar:
Kendall Avery, Hannah Buller, Madison Croissant, Isaac Fisher, Emiliano Goznzales, Gracy-Anne Long, Miguel Maqueda, Hannah Porter

AP Scholar with Honor: Owen Blehm, Kate Harvey, Jaxon Patten

AP Scholar with Distinction: Jaemason Long